September 17, 2007

Clocking up sleep debts

Posted in General, Lifestyle & Culture at 6:32 pm by ryushin

For some reason, I’m like napping alot recently… Slept some of my weekend away, and again 3 hours today… When I do a mini consideration of my sleep hours before and after school started, it all doesn’t add up. Lets see, in my vacation time, I would be like sleeping 7 hours on average. And believe me, I played long hours in front of my pc. (Wad izzit they claim about LCDs causing more eye fatigue due to backlights again?) And I do not really nap alot. Now consider my schoolterm. Typically sleep between 12 and 2am now, so shall average it at 1am. And I wake up some time close to 8 am. Hey… it’s the same average sleep time! What conclusion can I draw from this?

Oh yea, and while I’m on this topic, just to highlight that our society is becoming more “24-hours”. Simply lots of night owls now. This shall not be a lecture on what sleep deprivation does to your body, as most people should have a pretty good idea. So… pls do sleep enuf even if you go late into bed. (Just don’t miss your work and school šŸ˜€ ). And btw, research has shown that waking up time is a major influential factor over your body’s internal clock. To provide less disruption to your physiology, try to wake up around the same time interval everyday, and then nap later if needed to repay whatever sleep debts you have. Just don’t say I tell you to when you are caught snoozing at the wrong time!

1 Comment »

  1. jh said,

    then i siao liao… my internal clock is… >_<

    and i dont nap… i nap for too long.. lols.


Leave a comment