February 9, 2009

Five Hungry Men

Posted in General at 11:39 pm by ryushin

The day started with an anticipation for buffet. This time, our mighty consortium of strength five, selected Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Lao Bao as our latest target. Thankfully between lessons I still ate a considerable portion of rice. Because, as we were much later to find out at our disappointment, the xiao long bao buffet at our target starts at 8.30 pm, which was almost 2 hours later as at the time we stared into blank spaces with mouth gawking wide.

What do you wanna do with five hungry men? No way are we to wait for 2 more hours (even though that would be even more reason for a buffet). Abit of fiddling around and we ended up at ThaiExpress. Lets take a look at what we ate.

Zong and Dom started with Phat Thai Neua, which is Thai fried noodles with seafood. It smelled quite nice, in fact most of the food here can be considered rather high-scoring on the taste dimension. Jiahao had Pad Si Ew Neua (Thai stir-fried beef kway teow). As usual, he gobbled down the food like he had not eaten for 10 days. Ken ordered Pad Si Ew Talay (Thai stir-fried seafood kway teow). Yay, I think I have learnt a few Thai words (which I will no doubt forget soon).

Now for me! It is the focus of attention on this night. I’ve got myself a plate of Sen Lek Kee Mao Gai (spicy stir-fried stick noodles with chicken). Nicknamed “drunken fire noodles”, as Thais believe only beer can put out the flames in your mouth after eating this deceptively mild-looking noodles. (Wait, does that mean I win them?!)

And what a blast! It was definitely spicy. I could see the chilli slices dotting the noodles landscape as if it was a minefield. The smell, woot. Now that is friggin’ nice lah. Hahahahaha. The store manager kind of saw and ooh, someone attempted this item today when the waiter served the food. But I kind of feel a weird sense of ego when waiters occasionally look back and have some kind of puzzled face when they realised my water does not need refilling. (Bashes myself)

We then ordered 2 appetisers to share (after our main course yea). But then again what constitutes main course becomes a blurred line if we were willing to fork out more money. Basically we got Poo Tod Kratiem Phrik Thai (soft-shell crab with our chef’s secret batter) and Kanom Pang Na Kung (prawn toast). Felt abit cheated by the prawn toast though… the picture looked alot better than what eventually went into our stomachs. But the soft-shell crab was indeed quite satisfying in terms of taste, though we would have liked a bigger portion. Oh yea, free sweet tapioca for payment using DBS card. That was very nice too, especially after my hugely spicy meal.

Overall I think ThaiExpress kind of rocks as a mid-range restaurant. There seems to be decent selection of spicy and non-spicy food going around. I should try some others next time πŸ™‚ Btw, I noticed their staff service level was of excellent quality indeed.

1 Comment »

  1. ignorantsoup said,

    Lol. Go other restaurants and try next time. Preferably new ones. If not everytime the default restaurants very sian. lol


Leave a comment