January 17, 2010

End of First Week

Posted in University at 1:58 pm by ryushin

Tralala have finished week 1 in my newest semester now. To be honest, I have a gripping feeling that it might potentially be the most work intensive semester so far. For starters, I have already gone through some mini cases, and submitted one assignment! Okok I will not explicitly say which ones have what or anything so as not to indirectly influence other people choices in future.

Collectively wise, my timetable isn’t too bad, though to some it might be. It is a four day week which unfortunately includes Saturday. And total weekly lesson time is 16 hours, with total in between wasting hours of 5 hours, which will probably not be wasted too much afterall.

Module 1: So far nothing much. This mod shouldn’t be too tough for me. But it is hard to concentrate when the lecturer likes to laugh to herself (talk about self entertainment hur?) Hopefully my group is gonna put in enough effort to nab a good grade.

Module 2: The lecturer is super friendly! He is probably super well-versed in his area of expertise, and the downside is the workload may be quite hefty, including working with a new software and lots of self-learning.

Module 3: Assignment in the first week! But the quantitative parts are not a problem for me, at least for now. Super intuitive to me. Of course, being proficient in excel functions helps.

Module 4: Looks like friggin’ lots of work to do over here. Is already supposed to finish a whole load of readings. It doesn’t help that I dunno many people in this class and that the lecturer speaks fast with a not so easy to understand accent to me.

Module 5: So far, super boring! The lecturer is really slow. I guess part of the reason is because this is a GEM, and he hafta pace himself for the crappy students. Plus the timing of the module means that I will probably be dreaming about food, or dozing off.

So that was the initial impressions to the modules I am facing this semester. I will probably still do enough to score respectable grades, but it increasingly looks like I can afford to slack off as I am stuck in the land of in between (no point in pushing for something near impossible to achieve).

2 Comments »

  1. scullywally said,

    at least you seem to have the necessary know-how for all your classes! =)
    all the best! i’m sure you’ll do well! =)

  2. ryushin said,

    Thanks! You jiayou too. Many ppl work surprisingly hard for their graduating sem.


Leave a comment